GENERAL KNOWLEDGE

INTRODUCTION

Orchids form one of the largest families in the plant kingdom with more than 35,000 botanical species distributed in all latitudes, except for the desert regions and the poles. Their size varies from five millimeters to five meters. Most of cultivated orchids come from the tropics and subtropics around the globe.

GROWING MODES

The monopodial mode does not have a rhizome and is recognized by its vertical and indeterminate growth. The stem has a strong apical dominance which means that the flower spikes will appear in the axils of the leaves and not at the end of the terminal shoot. Some plants of the genus Vanda and others in this group will also produce aerial roots on their long stems allowing stem "cuttings". Otherwise, for the others (Phalaenopsis et cie) which produce little or no suckers, sowing and cloning in the laboratory will be the options to multiply them.

The sympodial mode is recognized by its growth from a horizontal rhizome from which shoots with determined growth, with or without pseudobulbs, emerge. The flower spikes will emerge from the end of these shoots or at the base of them (Cymbidium, Paphiopedilum, etc.) and which will form, over time, a growth in tiller. The plant can then be divided by severing the rhizome to obtain a division of at least 3 pseudobulbs to ensure good recovery.

PSEUDOBULB

In many sympodials there is a swelling at the base of the stem called pseudobulb, which serves as a reservoir by accumulating water and food in anticipation of periods of rest. The shape of pseudobulbs can vary according to genera and species, from ovoid to elongated.

EPIPHYTIC PLANTS

Most of orchids are epiphytic (grow on branches and trunks), lithophytic (on rocks) or terrestrial and semi-terrestrial (peat bogs) They are not parasitic plants: their roots have adapted to attach themselves to branches and trunks, in the case of epiphytes, according to their need for light in their natural environment in order to use the available resources optimally.

FLOWERING

Most orchid species flower once a year, with flowers that can vary in longevity between species and hybrids. The onset of flowering is linked to one or more combined factors (light intensity, temperature as well as the photoperiod).

Flowers use the most ingenious means to lure pollinators, by imitation, chemical or visual seduction, or by provocation. The flowers of the orchid are composed of three sepals and three petals, one of which is modified into a lip. This is often curled and colored to attract pollinators to the stamens and pistil, which are fused into an organ called a column. It is this structure that characterizes orchids.

NOTIONS GÉNÉRALES

INTRODUCTION

Les orchidées forment une des plus grandes familles du règne végétal avec plus de 35 000 espèces botaniques réparties sous toutes les latitudes, sauf pour les régions désertiques et les pôles. Leur taille varie de cinq millimètres à cinq mètres. La majorité des orchidées cultivées proviennent des zones tropicales et sub-tropicales autour du globe.

MODES DE CROISSANCE

Le mode monopodial ne possède pas de rhizome et se reconnaît à sa croissance à la verticale et indéterminée. La tige a une forte dominance apicale qui fait en sorte que les hampes florales apparaitront à l’aisselle des feuilles et non au bout de la pousse terminale. Certaines plantes du genre Vanda et autres de ce groupe produiront aussi des racines aériennes sur leur longue tige permettant le "bouturage" de tige. Autrement, pour les autres (Phalaenopsis et cie) qui ne produisent peu ou pas de rejets, le semis et le clonage en laboratoire seront les options pour les multiplier.

Le mode sympodial se reconnaît à sa croissance depuis un rhizome horizontal d’où émergent des pousses à croissance déterminée, pourvues ou non de pseudobulbes. Les hampes florales sortiront du bout de ces pousses ou à la base de celles-ci (Cymbidium, Paphiopedilum, etc…) et qui formera, avec le temps, une croissance en talle. Le plant peut alors être divisé en sectionnant le rhizome pour obtenir une division d’au moins 3 pseudobulbes pour assurer une bonne reprise.

PSEUDOBULBE

On distingue chez bien des sympodiales un renflement à la base de la tige que l’on appel pseudobulbe, il sert de réservoir en accumulant l'eau et la nourriture en prévision des périodes de repos. La forme des pseudobulbes peut varier selon les genres et espèces, de forme ovoïde à allongée.

PLANTES ÉPIPHYTES

Les orchidées sont, pour la plupart, épiphytes (poussent sur des branches et troncs), lithophytes (sur les rochers) ou terrestres et semi-terrestres (tourbières) Ce ne sont pas des plantes parasites: leurs racines se sont adaptées pour se fixer sur des branches et troncs, dans le cas des épiphytes, en fonction de leur besoin en luminosité dans leur milieu naturel afin d’utiliser les ressources disponibles de façon optimale.

FLORAISONS

La plupart des espèces d'orchidées fleurissent une fois l'an, avec des fleurs d'une longévité pouvant varier selon les espèces et hybrides. Le déclenchement de la floraison est lié à un ou plusieurs facteurs combinés (intensité de l’éclairage, température ainsi que de la photopériode).

Les fleurs utilisent les moyens les plus ingénieux pour leurrer les pollinisateurs, par imitation, séduction chimique ou visuelle, ou par provocation. Les fleurs de l'orchidée sont composées de trois sépales et trois pétales, dont l'un est modifié en labelle. Celui-ci est souvent frisé et coloré pour attirer les pollinisateurs vers les étamines et le pistil, soudés en un organe appelé colonne. C'est cette structure qui caractérise les orchidées.