TIPS AND TRICKS

HOW READ THE NAME OF AN ORCHID

Orchids are either species or hybrids.

 

Species are denoted by two Latin words in italics, the first denotes the genus and the first letter only is capitalized, the second denotes the species, and is completely lowercase. It is often a descriptive term, example: Cattleya violacea or a Latinized version of its discoverer, example: Cattleya skinneri for Georges Ure Skinner.

 

Hybrids are designated by two species or hybrid names, separated by an "X" example: Phalaenopsis Cassandra X aphrodite. If the cross has been registered with the RHS (Royal Horticultural Society), it has a name, for example Phalaenopsis Timothy Christopher. The name of the hybrid is composed of the name of the genus (always in italics, and 1st letter in capitals), and of its cross name, which is not in italics, and each word of which begins with a capital letter.

 

Note that the name is sometimes followed by a cultivar name and / or an acronym meaning that the plant has won an award, for example AM ​​/ AOS.

POTTING MEDIUM

Sequoia bark medium size .... 70%

New Zealand sphagnum moss .... 10%

Perlite .... 10%

Charcoal .... 10% (if available)

 

Note that for Paphiopedilum and Phragmipedium, we can increase the proportion of foam and decrease that of perlite. For small plants, or those with fine roots, it is best to use bark of small grain size. Depending on the growth of the plant, repot every two or three years (The roots of Paphiopedilum and Phragmipedium must not be discovered).

 
RESUSCITATION TECHNIQUE

If you are buying unpotted orchids, i.e. bare roots, here is how to proceed:

 

Completely submerge the plant in a solution of lukewarm water with sugar (one teaspoon for one liter) for a period of 3 to 5 hours. Subsequently, temporarily pot it in damp moss (New Zealand sphagnum moss), in the shade (subdued light) for a week; then we can pot as usual.

 

ECOLOGICAL TREATMENT

If your plants have been outside during the summer, they should be treated before bringing them in. We should immerse the pots in an insecticide solution and spray the foliage with the same solution, once a week for three weeks. The next morning of the third week we can bring in the plants.

Insecticide solution recipe

200 ml of garlic oil (see recipe below)

20 ml of Neem oil

a few drops of eucalyptus oil

45 ml of dish soap

4 liters of water

Garlic oil recipe

3 heads of garlic, chopped in 60 ml of vegetable oil; let macerate for 24 hours at room temperature.

Pass through a sieve then add 1 liter of soapy water (10 ml of dish soap / 1 L of water)

 

CULTURE SUMMARY TABLE
(1) INITIATION OF FLOWERING (for Phalaenopsis)

For a period of 6 weeks:

Increase the daytime temperature by 5 ° C and decrease the nighttime temperature by 5 ° C

Increase lighting by 25 - 40%

Space the waterings.

No fertilization.

Reduce ambient humidity.

 

For a second flowering on the same stem: cut the flower stem just above the last dormant bud below the first (wilted) flower. There will be a branching with new flowers. The only restriction is to ensure that the plant is mature (more than two leaves).

 

(2) LIGHTING

All windows except those facing due north, ideally south-east or south-west. Cool white neon lights are good substitutes as long as the orchids are placed very close (about 4 inches, 10cm). A high pressure sodium lamp is the artificial lighting of choice.

(3) WATERING

Many orchidophiles use deionized water (reverse osmosis filtered) or rainwater, or tap water can also be used at room temperature.

 

(4) HUMIDITY

For small quantities of plants, you can use small polyurethane or enameled metal containers in which you put aquarium gravel and water, but so that the pots do not touch the water. For a larger number of plants, we can build a shelter (a tent) in polythene in which we put a humidifier and a ventilator.

TRUCS ET ASTUCES

COMMENT LIRE LE NOM D'UNE ORCHIDÉE

Les orchidées sont soit des espèces, soit des hybrides. 

Les espèces sont désignées par deux mots latins en italiques, le premier désigne le genre et la première lettre seulement est en majuscule, le second désigne l'espèce, et est complètement en minuscule. C'est souvent un terme descriptif, exemple: Cattleya violacea ou une version latinisée de son découvreur, exemple: Cattleya skinneri pour Georges Ure Skinner. 

Les hybrides sont désignés par deux noms d'espèces ou d'hybrides, séparés par un "X" exemple: Phalaenopsis Cassandra X aphrodite. Si le croisement a été enregistré auprès de la RHS (Royal Horticultural Society), il porte un nom, par exemple Phalaenopsis Timothy Christopher. Le nom de l'hybride est composé du nom du genre (toujours en italique, et 1ère lettre en majuscule), et de son nom de croisement, qui n'est pas en italique, et dont chaque mot commence par une majuscule.

À noter que le nom est parfois suivi d'un nom de cultivar et/ou d'un acronyme signifiant que la plante a mérité un prix, par exemple AM/AOS.

 

MILIEU D'EMPOTAGE
  • écorce de séquoia grosseur moyenne....70% 

  • mousse de sphaigne de Nouvelle-Zélande....10% 

  • perlite....10% 

  • charbon de bois....10% (si disponible)

À noter que pour les Paphiopedilum et les Phragmipedium, on peut augmenter la proportion de mousse et diminuer celle de perlite. Pour les petites plantes, ou celles qui ont des racines fines, il est préférable d'utiliser de l'écorce de petite granulométrie. Selon la croissance de la plante, on rempote tous les deux ou trois ans (Il ne faut pas que les racines des Paphiopedilum et des Phragmipedium soient découvertes).

 

TECHNIQUE DE RÉANIMATION

Si vous achetez des orchidées non empotées, c'est à dire racines à nues, voici la façon de procéder:

Immerger complètement la plante dans une solution d'eau tiède avec du sucre (une c. à thé pour un litre) pour une période de 3 à 5 heures. Par la suite, l'empoter temporairement dans de la mousse humide (sphaigne de Nouvelle-Zélande), à l'ombre (lumière tamisée) pour une semaine; ensuite on peut empoter comme à l'habitude.

 

TRAITEMENT ÉCOLOGIQUE

Si vos plantes ont séjourné à l'extérieur durant l'été, il faut les traiter avant de les rentrer. On devra plonger les pots dans une solution insecticide et vaporiser le feuillage avec la même solution, cela une fois par semaine pour trois semaines. Le lendemain matin de la troisième semaine on peut rentrer les plantes.

Recette de la solution insecticide

  • 200 ml d'huile d'ail (voir recette ci-dessous)

  • 20 ml d'huile de Neem

  • quelques gouttes d'huile d'eucalyptus

  • 45 ml de savon à vaisselle

  • 4 litres d'eau

 

Huile d'ail

  • 3 têtes d'ail hachées dans 60 ml d'huile végétale; laisser macérer 24 heures à la température de la pièce.

  • Passer au tamis puis ajouter 1 litre d'eau savonneuse (10 ml de savon à vaisselle/1 L d'eau)

TABLEAU SYNTHÈSE DE CULTURE 
(1) INITIATION DE LA FLORAISON (pour les Phalaenopsis)

Pour une période de 6 semaines:

  • Augmenter la température de jour de 5° C et diminuer celle de nuit de 5° C 

  • Augmenter l'éclairage de 25 - 40% 

  • Espacer les arrosages.

  • Pas de fertilisation. 

  • Diminuer l'humidité ambiante.

 

Pour une deuxième floraison sur la même tige: couper la tige florale juste au-dessus du dernier bourgeon dormant en dessous de la première fleur (fanée). Il se produira un embranchement avec de nouvelles fleurs. Seule restriction, s'assurer que la plante est mature (plus de deux feuilles).

(2) ÉCLAIRAGE

Toutes fenêtres à l'exception de celles qui donnent plein nord, idéalement sud-est ou sud-ouest. Les néons de types "cool white" sont de bons substituts à la condition de placer les orchidées tout près (environ 4 pouces, 10cm). Une lampe haute pression au sodium est l'éclairage artificiel de choix.

(3) ARROSAGE

Plusieurs orchidophiles emploient de l'eau déionisée (filtrée par osmose inverse) ou de l'eau de pluie, on peut aussi utiliser l'eau du robinet à la température de la pièce.

(4) HUMIDITÉ

Pour de petites quantités de plantes, on peut utiliser de petits bacs en polyuréthane ou en métal émaillé dans lesquels on mets du gravier pour aquarium et de l'eau, mais de façon à ce que les pots ne touchent pas l'eau. Pour un plus grand nombre de plantes, on peut construire un abri (une tente) en polythène dans lequel on met un humidificateur et un ventilateur.

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Contact 

   

Tous droits réservés © La Société des Orchidophiles de Montréal 1996-2020

Website made by Julie Massot